mini tropical outbreaks in semi-arid country

The girls asked if I should maybe change before we walked to the YMCA for swim lessons. Aren’t those your pyjamas mom? Well, not exactly–I wasn’t wearing them last night. I put them on in the morning, after the self-induced cholera outbreak yesterday.

The load of cement in my stomach, or so it felt, was hard to fall asleep to. The nauseating cramps woke me in the night. I woke feeling the haze of the television left on at four in the morning…the way the tv used to buzz when there wasn’t tv all night. By lunchtime, I had recovered.

Though my tropical medicine knowlege isn’t quotable, I’m pretty sure cholera lasts longer than that. But they were deadened cholera cells. Next week, typhoid!

Leave a Reply

