monday

It’s our Monday morning. You are likely sleeping, or getting ready for bed. Hannah, Madelyn and I might walk to the local orphanage in the early afternoon. That’s if Agnes is willing to babysit Rachel and Zach. The two steep inclines are not favourable for them. I’m not sure they are for us either, but I’m willing to risk it. If the orphanage doesn’t happen, I am invited to the operating room with Jim, where he’ll be all day and evening. I am to wear a big, baggy pair of green scrubs and a scarf covering all my hair. Haven’t been in surgery since nursing school, and didn’t particularly enjoy watching the c-sections or thoracotomy. But I’m intrigued at watching my husband hovering over his patient, ensuring the patient continues sleeping comfortably and pain-free with healthy oxygen saturations. I’ve heard that he anaesthetizes people; I have not actually seen it before. I have seen him in scrubs–it brings back romantic remembrances of how we met.

It’s 9:45 and we’ve been awake for a couple hours now, having lounged in bed reading David Copperfield on the Kobo to my early morning risers, Zach and Madelyn. Hannah fried eggs, Madelyn prepared the yoghurt and muesli (a surgeon had a visit to El Doret yesterday—yay, carrots, chickpeas, and yoghurt!) The beds are made, the floors tidied–how do we make such a mess with so few things from home? The kitchen counter is still filled with dirty dishes, the floors filthy, the garbages full, the laundry overwhelmed by fabrics–but I am supposed to leave this for Agnes, when she arrives at 10:30.

I’ve filled the water filter with six plastic bottles of sun filtered water (it sat in the equatorial sun all day and overnight, which apparently kills all the microorganisms…I’ve read about its validity, but we still boil). The kids are playing hospital, Hannah gave Madelyn a greenstick fracture of the radius, and Rachel is nursing her to health. Zach found another location than the toilet to pee in, his recent preoccupation. And we will soon pull out the devotional book, Aesop’s fables, and African study books.  I’d like to say, it’s just another manic Monday, cause it sounds conventionally clever, but these days are anything but manic. More like Scarlett O’Hara in a foreign country. What to do, what to do…

Leave a Reply

