the old and the new

The heavens are open and the rains are pouring. Thanks to Mosa for split firewood and my newly acquired skill in firestarting. I’m kinda proud. Forty five minutes and two boxes of matches and I accomplished nothing a few days ago. Watching the professionals closely helps. Agnes and Edna, starting their fire every evening of their cooking lives, have a lot of talent. Today, I’ve started two fires, morning and evening.

Hard to believe that in only a few days we will be packing our suitcases and driving back to El Doret. Seems like so very long since we’ve been here, like it is so front and present that it couldn’t have an end. Dare I say with true vulnerability, the foreign nature of our surroundings does compel me to desire the familiar. I’d like to think that I have the fortitude to hang my hat for awhile, and maybe one day that will be the case, but I’m awful eager to visit Superstore.

I didn’t even know what to say when someone remarked today that she doesn’t buy all that water purification stuff. Just drink it straight from the tap. Huh, cross-eyed. Are you joking? Can you spell–e coli, cholera, giardia, cryptosperidium–okay, I’m not sure I can spell the last one. Since I’m pretty sure though that I had one of them last weekend, I’m not so cocky about my immune system.

There are some things that you just don’t get to experience when you’re in Canada. Madelyn sat five and a half hours to get her hair done. This one daughter does have the patience to sit that long, but her hairstyle is not all that common.

Before….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A summertime do, requiring no cleansing or styling. Pretty cute.

 

One thought on “the old and the new

  1. I love the hair Madelyn! It’s hard to believe 6 weeks are almost past. I am very thankful to be able to drink out of the tap. How blessed we are here in Canada and take it so for granted.

Leave a Reply

