jesus loves the little children

Walking past a primary school in a mountain town of northeast Kenya, I saw dozens of children rushing to the wire fence.

What were they looking at? Mzungus! White people.

We garner more excited interest than Queen Elizabeth when we saw her only two weeks ago.

A half hour previous, we passed a girls’ middle school where the girls were yelling, Come, greet us.

So I did.

These girls giggled uncontrollably.

I imagined they were in disbelief touching the mzungu’s hands. I touched one girl’s hands and invited her to touch mine as a dozen girls watched.

In this part of the world, the colour red I see is found in advertisements on village walls…

070

Okay, so red Coke advertisements don’t represent the red children that God loves, but you can’t miss it, Coca Cola finds its way into remote Kenya. For thirty shillings, or forty cents, you can have a bottle of coke!

…and I see the colour Yellow….

the colour of our bath water….need I say more…

083

BLACK (or dark brown)….some of the little children crowding to see the mzungus….

031

and “WHITE”…

…the only white mtoto (children) I have seen since we’ve been here. Our four….

038

The giggling didn’t stop. And my kids grew increasingly uncomfortable as the kids pointed at them, covered their mouths and giggled, or howled in guffaws and chortles.

I then sang, Jesus loves the little children, all the children of the world: red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight, Jesus loves the little children of the world.  God made you black, God made me white. And God loves all of us. 

 

Leave a Reply

