wandering the mid-Manhatten neighbourhood

Madelyn and I weren’t done for the day. Though this city never sleeps, our four must if we are to enjoy these days. So we head out late (9 in our books) and walked the five block radius.

Radio City was a block away!

2015-11-11 17.21.55

Jimmy Fallon’s studio only half a block away!

2015-11-11 17.07.49

Across the NBC studio was the Canadian flag flying at half mast remembering Remembrance Day. We sat at the Las Vegas-like fountain and enjoyed the darkened skyline.

2015-11-11 17.32.07 2015-11-11 17.31.30-2

But there’s not too much rest for the weary, because we woke up bright and early…what time is it anyway? I refuse to enter the present time zone since we’re not here too long. So we have been letting the kiddos sleep while we head out for a morning coffee.

We did a little window shopping along Fifth Ave (through a bus window). 2015-11-12 08.32.50

Gucci, Prada, Chanel. You name it, it is here.

We prevented unwanted purchases of kitchy stuff or avant garde or haute couture…you know me and my penchant for Coco Channel (or my penchant for wearing shoes too long and replacing my wallet every decade).

Now my girls though…see that smile…2015-11-12 08.26.37…I wouldn’t put it past them…

But we’ll save our pennies for sustenance. Crazy pricey as it is, the food here is at least very very good. The kids have enjoyed certain dining experiences that we never saw till we were adults. Supply and demand! And apparently those that supply here can demand what they want.

Instead of walking another twenty five blocks…one doesn’t need a gym pass or a taxi cab or even a vehicle here (who would want to with the angry honking); instead, we bussed the twenty five blocks to my favourite place in the world…the art gallery…the crème de resistance to this day, The Met.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is as enchanting as any art museums as I’ve seen in Europe. And, not surprisingly, has a lot of European Art. Old World meets New again. Of course, there’s also a lot of American Art, modern art, just a LOT a lot of art.

Tomorrow, I’ll post my favourites in full photo, full length posting!

Leave a comment